Whys TROY AIK COMMENTATOR FOR EVERYSKINS GAME

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12

MTK
10-24-2010, 06:27 PM
This is the stupidest thread ever.

Definitely in the discussion, no doubt.

Especially since last week and week 1 was on NBC so... no Aikman. Week 2 was on CBS so again... no Aikman. Week 3 also = no Aikman. So what we really have is Aikman has done 2 of our 7 games. Another reason why this thread is a mega fail.

MTK
10-24-2010, 06:28 PM
Is that a rule? I don't think so, not written as such anyway. Interpretation is pretty suspect. I mean is sliding on your "two" knees worse than the Lambeau Leap? NO!

Sorry, but that is the most idiotic thing I ever heard Aikman say. I think he's probably one of the best commentators out there, but c'mon, really?

Yes, really.

Rule 12, Section 3, Article 1(d) prohibits players “from engaging in any celebrations while on the ground."

mooby
10-24-2010, 06:33 PM
Yes, really.

Rule 12, Section 3, Article 1(d) prohibits players “from engaging in any celebrations while on the ground."

So if a guy got thrown into the endzone and landed on his back, then raised his arms in the air in celebration while he was still on his back, then he's excessively celebrating?

While your point is certainly valid, and in the end you are right, it should've been called, I do believe they need to rewrite the rules on that one. Because DeAngelo Hall raising both arms in celebration while on his knees is certainly not excessively celebrating a game changing play, I mean that's not of the same caliber as Chad Johnson using the orange post on the corner of the endzone as a putter to do his Tiger Woods impersonation.

MTK
10-24-2010, 06:34 PM
I don't think it would count if a guy got tossed to the ground. You have to go to the ground on your own.

Chief X_Phackter
10-24-2010, 06:38 PM
Yes, really.

Rule 12, Section 3, Article 1(d) prohibits players “from engaging in any celebrations while on the ground."

Really? He went to his knees and raised both hands with the football. Pretty sure that isn't what they were thinking about when they wrote Rule 12, Section 3, Article 1(d). You don't really think that should have been a penalty do you?

So I suppose if you score a touchdown, kneel down and say a prayer, that is cause for a flag too right?

artmonkforhallofamein07
10-24-2010, 06:39 PM
Mooby that does not count. If you are up and go to the ground in celebration is the rule. you have to go to the ground on your own. I think the fact that DHall slid on both knees and held hi arms in the air saved him. If he had jumped and slid on his belly then it may have been a penalty.

Really why are we so worried about it. If we got the penalty it would have been on the kickoff and the Bears would have given us the ball back anyway!

Chief X_Phackter
10-24-2010, 06:41 PM
Mooby that does not count. If you are up and go to the ground in celebration is the rule. you have to go to the ground on your own. I think the fact that DHall slid on both knees and held hi arms in the air saved him. If he had jumped and slid on his belly then it may have been a penalty.

Really why are we so worried about it. If we got the penalty it would have been on the kickoff and the Bears would have given us the ball back anyway!

Well, can't argue with that now, can I.

D-Hall.

MTK
10-24-2010, 06:41 PM
Really? He went to his knees and raised both hands with the football. Pretty sure that isn't what they were thinking about when they wrote Rule 12, Section 3, Article 1(d). You don't really think that should have been a penalty do you?

So I suppose if you score a touchdown, kneel down and say a prayer, that is cause for a flag too right?

I'm not saying it should have been called, just saying that's what the rule is, and it certainly COULD have been called if the refs wanted to.

Aikman wasn't crazy in what he was saying, especially considering the ticky tacky call that the Cowboys drew a few weeks ago when Columbo spiked it and fell to the ground and got called.

As Aikman also said, going to one knee is not a penalty.

skinsguy
10-24-2010, 06:43 PM
Going by the rules, it's a penalty. Doesn't matter if it's excessive or not.

Rule 12, Section 3, Article 1(d) prohibits players “from engaging in any celebrations while on the ground."

You have to read it all the way through and according to the rule, it does matter if it's excessive or not:

"( d ) Individual players involved in prolonged or excessive celebrations. Players are prohibited from
engaging in any celebrations while on the ground. A celebration shall be deemed excessive
or prolonged if a player continues to celebrate after a warning from an official."

Hall's celebration was not prolonged or excessive. He did go to his knees for a few seconds as soon as he crossed the end zone line, however he was not warned (or at least appeared not to be) by the official and if he was, he did not continue to celebrate for a prolonged length of time. These rules are meant to be interpreted as a whole, not just part. And taking the entire rule into consideration, Hall's celebration shouldn't have been penalized and rightfully was not.

Chief X_Phackter
10-24-2010, 06:44 PM
I'm not saying it should have been called, just saying that's what the rule is, and it certainly COULD have been called if the refs wanted to.

Aikman wasn't crazy in what he was saying, especially considering the ticky tacky call that the Cowboys drew a few weeks ago when Columbo spiked it and fell to the ground and got called.

As Aikman also said, going to one knee is not a penalty.

Nope, not crazy. Just biased and comparative. 4-3.

EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum