Warpath

Warpath (http://www.thewarpath.net/forum.php)
-   Parking Lot (http://www.thewarpath.net/parking-lot/)
-   -   anyone use Vonage? (http://www.thewarpath.net/parking-lot/17069-anyone-use-vonage.html)

Mattyk 02-17-2007 01:28 PM

anyone use Vonage?
 
I was thinking of switching to Vonage for my land line to save some money. I currently have Verizon and I'm paying about $60 per month and we barely use the phone! It just seems like such a ripoff. So anyway, does anyone have Vonage? How's the service/reliability?

saden1 02-17-2007 02:22 PM

Re: anyone use Vonage?
 
Comcast + Vonage was a terrible experience for me. I had to make sure nothing was being downloaded to use the phone and even then there were times when people calling me couldn't hear me or I couldn't hear them.

It's a hit an miss from what I have heard from others in the my area. If you want to give them a try know that if you cancel within a year there's a cancellation fee. Also, consider getting their wireless phone kit as it is more convenient.

hooskins 02-17-2007 05:10 PM

Re: anyone use Vonage?
 
I heard some iffy things about the 911 emergency service.

Plus its based on broadband, and if you power goes out, then your 911 and vonage service will go out too. Always good to have a landline...

Monk-Fan 02-17-2007 06:44 PM

Re: anyone use Vonage?
 
Im in Korea and use the Vonage and it has worked for me great. Of course once in a while it goes out but it isnt a regular thing. It works out great for me because my family can call me and it is like making an in state call for them when they call me. The only thing that sucks for me is i am asleep during their day and get woke up frequently in the middle of the night, its cool though. I have no complaints about Vonage and would recommend for others to try it.

hooskins 02-17-2007 07:41 PM

Re: anyone use Vonage?
 
[quote=Monk-Fan;278276]Im in Korea and use the Vonage and it has worked for me great.[B] Of course once in a while it goes out but it isnt a regular thing.[/B] It works out great for me because my family can call me and it is like making an in state call for them when they call me. The only thing that sucks for me is i am asleep during their day and get woke up frequently in the middle of the night, its cool though. I have no complaints about Vonage and would recommend for others to try it.[/quote]

I agree, I think the service is great for the price, but during emergency situations, vonage might not be your best friend...

firstdown 02-19-2007 03:52 PM

Re: anyone use Vonage?
 
I'm guessing verison is your land line? Have you called to see if they have a package that meets your needs? Also let them know you thinking of switching they tend to find better pricing when they think your leaving. At home we have basic usage with no long distance running around $30.00 and we use our cell phones with free long distance.

BDBohnzie 02-20-2007 08:37 AM

Re: anyone use Vonage?
 
I have Vonage (combined with Cable Internet, switched when I moved to Frederick), and it's been great. No problems whatsoever thus far. I too was paying between 40 and 50 a month with Verizon, now pay 18 bucks for their 500 minute plan.

Hog1 02-20-2007 09:32 AM

Re: anyone use Vonage?
 
I have a friend who makes a ton a calls to Canada from Florida. LD was eating him up. Vonage is like 50 p/mo. he loves it, no problems

Mattyk 02-20-2007 09:40 AM

Re: anyone use Vonage?
 
[quote=BDBohnzie;278647]I have Vonage (combined with Cable Internet, switched when I moved to Frederick), and it's been great. No problems whatsoever thus far. I too was paying between 40 and 50 a month with Verizon, now pay 18 bucks for their 500 minute plan.[/quote]

Yeah that's the plan I'm looking at, I'd be hard pressed to even use those 500 minutes.

EternalEnigma21 02-20-2007 09:52 AM

Re: anyone use Vonage?
 
man I used Vonage for a while and had no problems whatsoever. You have to set up the emergency calling when you get the phone so that you can just dial 911 or whatever, but other than that I had no problems.

I used it with Adelphia and Antietam cable internet and it worked no matter what I was doing.

In my home now, I used it for a while and probably will again, and I have 4 computers and an Xbox tied into my internet. It still worked with almost no instances, but occasionally there was a bit of a lag or distortion if 3 of the computers were being used and they were tying up bandwidth all at once...

I reccomend it. Also, you can tie together your bluetooth headset with your computer and use it without your phone, and they have wifi enabled phones that use your number, so you can virtually go into any wifi hotspot and use your phone (I guess, I never tried it) and they look like cell phones.

If you have to work in any neighborhood you can tap into someone else's internet and use your home phone.

BDBohnzie 02-20-2007 12:04 PM

Re: anyone use Vonage?
 
[QUOTE=Mattyk72;278666]Yeah that's the plan I'm looking at, I'd be hard pressed to even use those 500 minutes.[/QUOTE]
We may used between 50 and 100 minutes a month tops, but I like the house phone for the simple fact that I can hand that out so my cell phone doesn't ring off the damn hook.

RobH4413 02-20-2007 12:20 PM

Re: anyone use Vonage?
 
My mom uses vonage (lives in frederick) and says its amazing. It's cheaper and has a lot of nice little quirks (check your messages online, view missed calls, etc..).

I just called and asked her how she liked it and if there were any problems... and so far it's problem free.

She's got a generator that she can hook into the house main line (had an electrition rig that up somehow) so she's not worried about power outage affecting the phone line (plus there is cell phones).

hooskins 02-20-2007 02:15 PM

Re: anyone use Vonage?
 
[quote=RobH4413;278702]My mom uses vonage (lives in frederick) and says its amazing. It's cheaper and has a lot of nice little quirks (check your messages online, view missed calls, etc..).

I just called and asked her how she liked it and if there were any problems... and so far it's problem free.

[B] She's got a generator that she can hook into the house main line (had an electrition rig that up somehow) so she's not worried about power outage affecting the phone line (plus there is cell phones).[/B][/quote]

In that case Vonage is great.

SmootSmack 03-23-2007 09:59 PM

Re: anyone use Vonage?
 
I'm sure this will be worked out, but might be something to keep an eye on

[url=http://www.reuters.com/article/newsOne/idUSWAT00719920070323?pageNumber=1]Judge hits Vonage with injunction | U.S. | Reuters[/url]


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site is not officially affiliated with the Washington Redskins or the NFL.

Page generated in 0.11552 seconds with 8 queries

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC5

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25