Warpath

Warpath (http://www.thewarpath.net/forum.php)
-   Parking Lot (http://www.thewarpath.net/parking-lot/)
-   -   Using your HDTV as a Computer Monitor (http://www.thewarpath.net/parking-lot/22005-using-your-hdtv-as-computer-monitor.html)

skinsguy 01-14-2008 08:51 PM

Using your HDTV as a Computer Monitor
 
I have ordered an HDMI to DVI cable so that I can hook my laptop up to my HDTV. Will the picture quality look really good? If you're viewing things on youtube, will it make a huge difference? I was thinking about diving into online movie rental, and I was wondering how the picture (and sound) quality would look on the tv.

GMScud 01-14-2008 08:55 PM

Re: Using your HDTV as a Computer Monitor
 
[quote=skinsguy;407817]I have ordered an HDMI to DVI cable so that I can hook my laptop up to my HDTV. Will the picture quality look really good? If you're viewing things on youtube, will it make a huge difference? I was thinking about diving into online movie rental, and I was wondering how the picture (and sound) quality would look on the tv.[/quote]

How much was the cable? I have a HDTV as well, and I've been interested in hooking up my computer, but I've never gotten around to it.

BleedBurgundy 01-14-2008 08:57 PM

Re: Using your HDTV as a Computer Monitor
 
I think it depends on your Tv and your video card. CNET has some pretty good reviews for each tv model with different inputs. I have used mine once before (Aquos 52" from a ATI FireGL V7200 card with a DVI to Component converter) and it looked great. I am actually considering building a pc specifically for that purpose...

skinsguy 01-14-2008 09:06 PM

Re: Using your HDTV as a Computer Monitor
 
[QUOTE=GMScud;407820]How much was the cable? I have a HDTV as well, and I've been interested in hooking up my computer, but I've never gotten around to it.[/QUOTE]

Got mine off of ebay for about $7 bucks. That's with shipping included.

skinsguy 01-14-2008 09:08 PM

Re: Using your HDTV as a Computer Monitor
 
[QUOTE=BleedBurgundy;407821]I think it depends on your Tv and your video card. CNET has some pretty good reviews for each tv model with different inputs. I have used mine once before (Aquos 52" from a ATI FireGL V7200 card with a DVI to Component converter) and it looked great. I am actually considering building a pc specifically for that purpose...[/QUOTE]


I don't have the latest and greatest video card in my laptop. My laptop is two years old (I know, ancient.) It's a Dell 9300 with a 128MB Radeon Video card. It does have a DVI out.

I guess my next question (or comment) is, I'd probably only be able to send the video siginal to my TV (since it's only connecting to the DVI video,) and I'd have to hook the sound up seperately. That is one thing I do like about HDMI cables, and that's the fact that you send both video and audio through the same cable.

BleedBurgundy 01-14-2008 09:15 PM

Re: Using your HDTV as a Computer Monitor
 
Not to hijack this thread, but don't you guys think it would be a lot more cost effective to build a pc with separate Blu Ray and HD DVD drives, with net connection than going out and buying the stand alone players? I am really tempted to do this but I'm curious what everyone thinks? I think I can spec out the box for probably 12-1500 and be very happy with everything...

BleedBurgundy 01-14-2008 09:20 PM

Re: Using your HDTV as a Computer Monitor
 
[QUOTE=skinsguy;407836]I don't have the latest and greatest video card in my laptop. My laptop is two years old (I know, ancient.) It's a Dell 9300 with a 128MB Radeon Video card. It does have a DVI out.

I guess my next question (or comment) is, I'd probably only be able to send the video siginal to my TV (since it's only connecting to the DVI video,) and I'd have to hook the sound up seperately. That is one thing I do like about HDMI cables, and that's the fact that you send both video and audio through the same cable.[/QUOTE]

Yeah, you would have to send a separate audio signal to the TV. That is one of the coolest things about HDMI, it's so much neater. When I decided to get the flat screen, I actually went and bought six female to female HDMI connectors. I then made and put 6 HDMI jacks directly into the wall, 3 along the baseboard, 3 behind the tv's mounting bracket. That way I can just plug the 360, DVD player and whatever else I end up buying directly into the wall without running cable in plain view. I also saved a little money on the DVI cables that way since I was able to buy them in shorter lengths. It does kind of suck that the TV only has hdmi inputs though. Seems like everytime you go out and buy something there's a new standard 2-3 yrs later.

skinsguy 01-14-2008 09:32 PM

Re: Using your HDTV as a Computer Monitor
 
[QUOTE=BleedBurgundy;407844]Yeah, you would have to send a separate audio signal to the TV. That is one of the coolest things about HDMI, it's so much neater. When I decided to get the flat screen, I actually went and bought six female to female HDMI connectors. I then made and put 6 HDMI jacks directly into the wall, 3 along the baseboard, 3 behind the tv's mounting bracket. That way I can just plug the 360, DVD player and whatever else I end up buying directly into the wall without running cable in plain view. I also saved a little money on the DVI cables that way since I was able to buy them in shorter lengths. It does kind of suck that the TV only has hdmi inputs though. Seems like everytime you go out and buy something there's a new standard 2-3 yrs later.[/QUOTE]


That sounds like a neat setup. I've just moved into my house and have just recently bought my HDTV (it's just a 32" 720p for now,) but I like the fact that that TV has three HDMI inputs. Going back to your earlier comment/question, I think you're onto something with building the computer system rather than to purchase the standalone units. I mean, if I could build a computer within the range that you said, with both drives, then I not only would have a blu-ray player and HD-player, but I would also have a computer as well. Heck, if Microsoft would allow for XBox 360 drives to be added to your system, I'd be in hog heaven (no pun intended to our great Redskins hogs!)

EternalEnigma21 01-14-2008 09:47 PM

Re: Using your HDTV as a Computer Monitor
 
this is freaky. Saturday I hooked my older desktop, which I don't really use, up to my 42" plasma with an s video cable. I have a wireless keyboard and mouse, so i can sit on the couch and mess around.

I was going to start a thread about how to clean up the images. video and pictures are perfect, but the icons and text on the web are hard to view...

any suggestions?

cpayne5 01-14-2008 09:47 PM

Re: Using your HDTV as a Computer Monitor
 
[QUOTE=skinsguy;407850]That sounds like a neat setup. I've just moved into my house and have just recently bought my HDTV (it's just a 32" 720p for now,) but I like the fact that that TV has three HDMI inputs. Going back to your earlier comment/question, I think you're onto something with building the computer system rather than to purchase the standalone units. I mean, if I could build a computer within the range that you said, with both drives, then I not only would have a blu-ray player and HD-player, but I would also have a computer as well. [B]Heck, if Microsoft would allow for XBox 360 drives to be added to your system[/B], I'd be in hog heaven (no pun intended to our great Redskins hogs!)[/QUOTE]

They may not *support* this, but it can be done. :)

EternalEnigma21 01-14-2008 09:49 PM

Re: Using your HDTV as a Computer Monitor
 
I already had the s video hookup in my video card, but cant get it to adjust without turning on high contrast mode (which i hate) or making the icons so big in windows i cant operate the thing... which doesn't help the web text....

cpayne5 01-14-2008 09:51 PM

Re: Using your HDTV as a Computer Monitor
 
So your text and icons are just small? If this is the case, just raise the resolution, or adjust the text/icon size under the "Appearance" tab of the "Display Properties" window.

EternalEnigma21 01-14-2008 10:05 PM

Re: Using your HDTV as a Computer Monitor
 
[quote=cpayne5;407865]So your text and icons are just small? If this is the case, just raise the resolution, or adjust the text/icon size under the "Appearance" tab of the "Display Properties" window.[/quote]


okay, i have this friend, and he's a complete idiot... he wants me to ask you how [I]you [/I]would go about raising the resolution, cause he doesn't like the way I do it...

;)

BleedBurgundy 01-14-2008 10:34 PM

Re: Using your HDTV as a Computer Monitor
 
Step 1. Right click on any open area of your desktop:

[IMG]http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2007-8/1275969/step1.JPG[/IMG]

Step 2. Go to the Settings Tab on Display Properties and move the slider til it looks the way you want...

[IMG]http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2007-8/1275969/step2.JPG[/IMG]

EternalEnigma21 01-14-2008 10:40 PM

Re: Using your HDTV as a Computer Monitor
 
mine looks completely different, and it changes the size of the screen when I move it instead of just clearing it up...


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site is not officially affiliated with the Washington Redskins or the NFL.

Page generated in 0.09574 seconds with 8 queries

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC5

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25