Warpath

Warpath (http://www.thewarpath.net/forum.php)
-   Parking Lot (http://www.thewarpath.net/parking-lot/)
-   -   Firefox Help (http://www.thewarpath.net/parking-lot/34755-firefox-help.html)

mredskins 01-14-2010 01:33 PM

Firefox Help
 
Some how, act of god, when I got my new computer at work I was able to get Firefox on it.

One problem though I can't seem to play any videos using Firefox they will play on IE but not FF.

Says I have to upgrade from Adobe reader 9 to 10 but Admin capabilities won't allow.

Is there any work around?

CRedskinsRule 01-14-2010 01:37 PM

Re: Firefox Help
 
I think you mean Adobe flash player, but I don't know any work around sorry

mredskins 01-14-2010 01:38 PM

Re: Firefox Help
 
[quote=CRedskinsRule;654726]I think you mean Adobe flash player, but I don't know any work around sorry[/quote]


Yeah that, sorry.

Why IE can use it but not FF is strange.

Probably becasue I am running IE 8 and Firefox 3.5.

CRedskinsRule 01-14-2010 01:40 PM

Re: Firefox Help
 
I had a similar problem, then at some point IE stopped working and Firefox works, that's better anyway since I rarely use IE. I don't know what made it work though...

BDBohnzie 01-14-2010 02:59 PM

Re: Firefox Help
 
[quote=mredskins;654727]Yeah that, sorry.

Why IE can use it but not FF is strange.

Probably becasue I am running IE 8 and Firefox 3.5.[/quote]
They use plugins differently, so it's not so strange.

What I usually do for cases where Firefox doesn't work properly, I use this:
[url=https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1419]IE Tab[/url]

I use it mainly to troubleshoot any web coding issues I'm having, as so I don't have to open up IE.

TheMalcolmConnection 01-14-2010 03:03 PM

Re: Firefox Help
 
Do you not have admin access at all on that machine?

Monkeydad 01-14-2010 03:26 PM

Re: Firefox Help
 
[quote=CRedskinsRule;654726]I think you mean Adobe flash player, but I don't know any work around sorry[/quote]

Correct, if the Admin won't let you DL and install applications, you're stuck.

Find a work-related site that has a Flash animation or presentation and ask them to install it so you can use that work-related site. :food-smil

mredskins 01-14-2010 03:40 PM

Re: Firefox Help
 
[quote=BDBohnzie;654786]They use plugins differently, so it's not so strange.

What I usually do for cases where Firefox doesn't work properly, I use this:
[URL="https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1419"]IE Tab[/URL]

I use it mainly to troubleshoot any web coding issues I'm having, as so I don't have to open up IE.[/quote]


I installed it but can't get the button to show up... I am a dumb ass.

FRPLG 01-14-2010 03:43 PM

Re: Firefox Help
 
[quote=mredskins;654830]I installed it but can't get the button to show up... I am a dumb ass.[/quote]

Right click on whatever page and you can select 'View Page in I[U]E[/U] Tab'

mredskins 01-14-2010 03:46 PM

Re: Firefox Help
 
[quote=FRPLG;654831]Right click on whatever page and you can select 'View Page in I[U]E[/U] Tab'[/quote]



Perfect that works!

tryfuhl 01-19-2010 11:23 PM

Re: Firefox Help
 
[URL]http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/get/flashplayer/xpi/current/flashplayer-win.xpi[/URL]

open that file with winzip or whatever you use for archives.. if you don't have anything just rename it to flashplayer-win.zip and windows should be able to handle it

extract the files out and copy or cut flashplayer.xpt and npsw32.dll go to start.. run.. type in "%appdata%" without the quotes.. then find the mozilla folder and the plugins folder inside of that and paste those files there

restart firefox

this will also work in the firefox portable version (run from a usb drive or similar) but is a different folder obviously (FirefoxPortableAppfirefoxplugins)

mredskins 04-17-2010 09:07 AM

Re: Firefox Help
 
OK another Firefox question. I recently updated my Firefox and now when I search in the web address bar it takes me to a yahoo search page instead of the actually address.

Example: I use to just type the word [B]warpath[/B] in the address field and it would take me straight to the warpath.net but now if I just type [B]warpath[/B] in I have to go to the yahoo search page then click on the link. Anyway to change it back?

tryfuhl 04-17-2010 11:14 AM

Re: Firefox Help
 
In the address bar type in "about:config" (without the quotes)

search for keyword.url in the filter field

Replace what's there with:
for a google search use: http://www.google.com/search?q=

or this one to automatically go to first result, like you had it
http://www.google.com/search?btnI=I%27m+Feeling+Lucky&q=

mredskins 01-27-2011 07:46 PM

Re: Firefox Help
 
i need help again.


i have seem to have lost my navigation bar and back/forward buttons. If i go to view navigation is not checked but it will not allow me to check it either. I just removed the dumb amazon shopper help thing and that is when my trouble started.

Any ideas?HELP!

TheMalcolmConnection 01-27-2011 10:27 PM

Re: Firefox Help
 
Right click in a blank spot at the top of the page, you should be able to recheck the bars...


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site is not officially affiliated with the Washington Redskins or the NFL.

Page generated in 0.07603 seconds with 8 queries

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC5

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25