Warpath

Warpath (http://www.thewarpath.net/forum.php)
-   Other Sports (http://www.thewarpath.net/forumdisplay.php?f=60)
-   -   Flag Football (http://www.thewarpath.net/showthread.php?t=39030)

44ever 10-07-2010 07:40 PM

Flag Football

Anyone here play or coach 7 on 7 flag football? Im coaching a team this year, its my first time and could use some help putting together some Defense. Thanks.

TheMalcolmConnection 10-07-2010 07:52 PM

Re: Flag Football

I play and basically on defense it's easier than you'd think. We've only lost one this year and it's really about match-ups on the D. Basically NO ONE runs in our league, so maybe our's is different, but just have your best athlete at safety and then match up each person based on speed and size for each receiver.

724Skinsfan 10-07-2010 08:33 PM

We had great success using our fastest guy (yours truly) as a pass rusher.

MTK 10-07-2010 09:42 PM

[quote=724Skinsfan;744454]We had great success using our fastest guy (yours truly) as a pass rusher.[/quote]

Exactly what we did in college. We did some zone blitzing with our corners and we would rack up sacks like crazy. 1993 Champs, oh yeah.

Went back to back but came up short in the Super Bowl in '94. :(

ArtMonkDrillz 10-07-2010 10:31 PM

[quote=Mattyk;744467]Exactly what we did in college. We did some zone blitzing with our corners and we would rack up sacks like crazy. 1993 Champs, oh yeah.

Went back to back but came up short in the Super Bowl in '94. :([/quote]Geez, I was 11 when you were winning championships in college.

FRPLG 10-07-2010 11:19 PM

The name of the game is speed. Get your fastest players near the ball carrier however you can.

One good thing to do is use people in pass rushing situations to get straight up field and flush a QB one way. It cuts the field in half and makes down field coverage much easier. But the key is that someone has to get to the QB quickly. And practice flag pulling like its going out of business.

44ever 10-08-2010 08:07 AM