Warpath

Warpath (http://www.thewarpath.net/forum.php)
-   Parking Lot (http://www.thewarpath.net/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   diets (http://www.thewarpath.net/showthread.php?t=5631)

MTK 03-29-2005 09:19 AM

diets

The working out thread got me thinking, what sort of diets has anyone had success with?

Personally I've been doing a low-carb diet for going on 3 years now. I'm just 5 lbs away from my goal of losing 50 lbs. :)

I've always been a big guy. When I graduated high school I was 6'3, 205. All the drinking and inactivity of college balloned me up to about 250. Then after college when my fiance and I moved in with each other, we ate like crap, all the boxed dinners, fries with every meal, etc.

At my heaviest I got up to 269, my blood pressure was high and that's what really got me worried. I had tried low-fat diets and I just couldn't stick with them for long. My fiance and I decided to start a low-carb diet and we've both lost a ton of weight and more importantly, stuck with it.

I started out using the Atkins approach, but I'm doing it my way now. I do eat bread occasionally, only whole wheat, and I know what other foods I can get away with, but I've found the real key for me is to avoid sugar at all cost.

I added regular exercise to my routine about 6 months ago, weights and cardio 3-4 times per week, and I've never felt better.

Low-carb diets catch alot of heat in the media, but for me it's the only way to go. It's not all about eating tons of red meat drowning in butter either. I eat more veggies than I ever did. Basically I avoid sugar and processed foods.

Any other diet success stories here?

TheMalcolmConnection 03-29-2005 09:29 AM

Re: diets

Matty, your story is strikingly similar to mine.

I was bigger all through high school and ended up graduating at about 190-195. Just like you said, the inactivity, buffets and drinking at college brought me up to 235 at graduation. As soon as I graduated I decided that was enough.