Quote:
Originally Posted by skinsguy
That is an interesting thing, if the "tuck" rule comes into play, then it should be a penality for intential grounding because chances are, the QB is still between the tackles, and secondly, the ball didn't make it to the line of scrimmage. Should be an automatic grounding penality.
|
That's a great point. In most cases, that would be true.
But in this case, it was as I mentioned. I just heard Gibbs taking about it.
He brought it in and put his left hand on the ball. The ball then went backward. He wasnt in the end zone when this happen but the ball ended up there.
Therefor, it was a backward pass. He wasnt being hit, so it cant be an incomplete pass without what you mentioned coming into play. It would be grounding. If not grounding, it was an outright funmble.
Anything but what they called. That was just a highschool call.
Then they missed Coley getting jumped into by the LB who didnt even turn his head. That was right in the open and they missed it.