Quote:
Originally Posted by cpayne5
I saw a segment with Mike Pereira (NFL's head of officiating), and he explained the rule.
Two things have to happen for a flag to be thrown.
* the defender gets his hand inside of the pads
* the defender immediately yanks the offensive player down
That tackle on Portis literally happened right in front of me and I was screaming and yelling for a flag to be thrown, but the way the rule reads, it was the correct call, I'm affraid.
|
Exactly right,
as the rule is currently written, it was not a penalty. He didn't even bend him backwards, he bent him sideways.
Whatever, did you want to win by 42 points?