Quote:
Originally Posted by skin4Life28
Isn't the exception to the rule if you get pushed out of bounds and then re-establish your self in play you can still catch the ball. if im not mistaken didn't that happen to us or against us this year?
|
You are right. You can re-establish if, in the opinion of the official, you are forced out and you IMMEDIATELY try to get back on the field. This happens a lot to the gunners on punt coverage. You could make the case for Cooley being forced out, but judgements are not reviewable. Whatever the official on the field decides initially in regards to a force-out is immune from overturn. The same is true for a force-out on a catch. Santana was bumped out in an earler game, maybe Minnesota but I can't remember. In that case he was ruled elligible to make a catch. The call went against us at home vs. Dallas last year (again Santana).