Quote:
Originally Posted by skinsfanthru&thru
from the replays they showed last night and this morning I though it hit around the middle of that bar and thus not out, but I honestly couldn't say one way or another which means I'd have to stick with the ruling on the field. But on the winning run play u could clearly see Holliday's hand got completely blocked by the catchers foot. I'll admit I'm biased as a hardcore Padres fan, but just as with the Redskins I can normally look at situations like this to realize when a call was fair or unfair. But like I said the Padres in a way deserved to lose for choking down the stretch whereas the Rockies kept fighting til the very end.
|
I think it was clearly a home run, and if I had to put my money on the play at the plate, I say he definitely did not touch the plate. However, from the angles we got, instant replay would not have overturned it, there are no real conclusive angles.
At worst I see it as a make up call for the blown HR which was clearly a home run. At best, even if they went another inning, I do not think SD would have won. The right team advanced.