Quote:
Originally Posted by Paintrain
We'll agree to disagree, the official has no culpability the way I see it.. Clarification is one thing, this rule doesn't leave any room to interpretation or clarification IMO-You can't call consecutive timeouts to freeze a kicker. Calling consecutive timeouts is unsportsmanlike conduct and will result in a 15 yard penalty. There's nothing vague or open to clarification there.
|
If you are unsure of a rule and you ask a ref, and he gives you wrong info, I think there's some responsibility there.
Aren't the refs there to officiate the game and to properly interpret the rules of the game, and to communicate the rules to the players, coaches, and audience? I think a coach asking the ref about a rule would fall under that level of responsibility.
I just find it odd and a little disturbing that Gibbs may have been given wrong info that led to a critical mistake.