Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattyk
Going by the rules, it's a penalty. Doesn't matter if it's excessive or not.
Rule 12, Section 3, Article 1(d) prohibits players “from engaging in any celebrations while on the ground."
|
You have to read it all the way through and according to the rule, it does matter if it's excessive or not:
"( d ) Individual players involved in prolonged or excessive celebrations. Players are prohibited from
engaging in any celebrations while on the ground. A celebration shall be deemed excessive
or prolonged if a player continues to celebrate after a warning from an official."
Hall's celebration was not prolonged or excessive. He did go to his knees for a few seconds as soon as he crossed the end zone line, however he was not warned (or at least appeared not to be) by the official and if he was, he did not continue to celebrate for a prolonged length of time. These rules are meant to be interpreted as a whole, not just part. And taking the entire rule into consideration, Hall's celebration shouldn't have been penalized and rightfully was not.