Quote:
Originally Posted by HailGreen28
Griffin regained control before he crossed the goal line, and kept control till he hit the ground. I can post screenshots online on my home PC. Just play the second video from the top on the link above, when they replay RG3's run, click to pause and continue right before the ball crossed the goal line, then watch all the way through.
Refs botched this one badly.
|
I honestly dont know the exact rule. All I am doing is explaining what Triplett gave as an explanation on the field. Here is the long version...
According to his explanation, the fact that he lost control prior to going over the goal line means he then had to "regain possession" of the ball for it to be a TD. In order for that to happen, he had to gain control of the ball and then either make a football move or maintain possession through the ground to "regain possession". Since he was in midair, making a football move wasnt going to happen. So he is left with maintaining possession through the ground as if he is now a receiver, which he didnt do. Since this wasnt a pass, the call cant be incomplete, so it reverts back to being a fumble. Now we have a fumble with RG3 laying out of bounds when he "regains possession". So it is ruled a fumble from prior to the goal line until he "regains possession" over the goal line and out of bounds. And a fumble over the goal line and out of bounds is a touchback, which is what was called.
Is that how the rule reads in the rulebook? I have no clue. And would love to see the exact rule pertaining to this. But that is the reasoning that Triplett used in making the call (with, at a minimum, an assist from the ones in New York helping with the replay calls).