Home | Forums | Donate | Shop

Go Back   Warpath > Off-Topic Discussion > Parking Lot

Working From Home Kinda Sucks

Parking Lot

Old 08-17-2009, 03:48 PM   #1
12thMan
MVP

Working From Home Kinda Sucks

So I've been working for my current employer for about seven months now. Shortly after I came on board, they had a round of layoffs. Somehow I survived. About four months later we had yet another round of layoffs. The economic slowdown has really affected us because our clients are publicly traded companies and mutual funds/closed end funds. Our success or failure is tied a great deal to the investment community. I do get the feeling, however, that we are heading back in the right direction. Since it's a somewhat small company we communicate with our CEO on a regular basis. He's been very transperant and forthcoming about the state of the company. So overall, I feel good about things. But you never know these days.

Last week, due to budget contraints and a bad real estate deal that should have never been made, management decided to close the D.C. office let us work from home full time. It was only, maybe, 10 of us that worked from that location anyway, so it was like you're uprooting a ton of folks. Everyone else works in either Richmond, VA or our London office. We have a small operation in Canada too. I'll save roughly $1,800 (if I play it right) a year on travelling expenses. I'll have over 2 hours of my day back now that I'm no longer commuting back and forth, and I can gaze at the tube every now and then.

But I've never worked from home full time. It's such a distraction not seeing people everyday, going to lunch, etc. You know, that Office Space type shit. I'm finding it hard to get on track today. It's the first day and all, but it just feels weird. I hope I can stick it out. Shoot, I hope the company can stick it out now that I think about it.
12thMan is offline   Reply With Quote

Advertisements
Old 08-17-2009, 03:52 PM   #2
Hog1