Thread: Bucs Postgame
View Single Post
Old 01-11-2021, 05:59 AM   #156
The Starter
AnonEmouse's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,325
Re: Bucs Postgame

Section 2, article 2 - "First touching is a violation, and the receivers shall have the option of taking possession of the ball at the spot of first touching, provided no penalty is accepted on the play, or at the spot where the ball is dead."

Ball is not dead until the carrier downs it/himself or crosses the goal line. Had he dropped it after catching it, Tampa would have still been entitled to return it. By carrying it over the line Apke gave the Buccs the option to take the TB.

It is badly written/explained, and as I said, usually it's intended for occurrences where momentum carries the runner over the line, not a deliberate act. But you can't blame the officials for an interpretation of momentum when it's not defined in the rules (i.e. "Unless the player deliberately advances the ball" or the like).
AnonEmouse is offline   Reply With Quote

Page generated in 0.04861 seconds with 10 queries