![]() |
|
Locker Room Main Forum Commanders Football & NFL discussion |
|
Thread Tools | Display Modes |
![]() |
#16 | |
Playmaker
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Yokohama, Japan
Posts: 4,525
|
Re: Bucs Postgame
Quote:
Sorry pal, you're just wrong on that one. You're confusing an illegal touching of the ball and recovering the ball. There's absolutely no way you can run back a punt as a member of the kicking team, the ball is dead as soon as you recover it. I don't want to pull out the "I'm a ref" card because the NFL rule slightly differs from the ones I've studied, but you're confusing 2 different situations, first touching, and recovering. Here's ESPN analysis on why it was a mistake. "The ball should have been marked where Apke first gained possession, and not a touchback. By rule, a kick that goes past the line of scrimmage is dead as soon as a member of the kicking team downs it. The ball can't be advanced. There are many judgment calls over the course of a game that can be debated. This one was a matter of rule application. Washington should have been able to pin the Buccaneers deeper than it did."
__________________
Derz Ambassaderz in the Land of the Rising Sun. Oui Monsieur. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
|
|